Skip to content

Transfer your data

The BlackBerry Content Transfer app provides three options for transferring your data:
  • Google Drive™ : You can transfer your data to Google Drive™ , a cloud storage service that's associated with your Google™ account. After your data is on Google Drive™ , you can transfer it to your new device.
  • Media card: If you have a media card, you can save your data on the media card and then insert the media card into your new device.
  • Wi-Fi: If you have access to a private Wi-Fi network (for example, the Wi-Fi network that you use at home), you can transfer your data using the Wi-Fi network.

You can create a password to encrypt your data while it's being transferred.

Transfer data using Google Drive

Before you begin: You must add a Google™ account to your new device. In Settings, tap Accounts > Add account > Google, and follow the prompts.
  1. On your new device, open the BlackBerry Content Transfer app, and then tap Next or This is my new device.
  2. Tap Next again, and then choose the Google™ account that you want to use for the transfer.
  3. On your previous device, open the BlackBerry Content Transfer app, and then tap Next > Next.
  4. On your previous device, if necessary, log in to your Google™ account. If your Google™ account is already set up, read the terms, and then tap Allow to continue.
  5. On your previous device, select the type of data that you want to transfer to your new device, and then tap Start.
  6. On your previous device, on the Create password screen, do one of the following:
    • To protect your data, enter a password. Enter the password again, and then tap Next.
    • To transfer your data without encryption, tap Skip.
  7. On your new device, if prompted, enter the password that you created in step 6.
  8. On your new device, if prompted, enter the passwords for your email accounts.
After your data is transferred to your new device, you can delete your data from Google Drive™ . Tap Remove transfer files.

Transfer data using a media card

Before you begin: A media card must be inserted in your previous device, and the media card must have enough available space for your data.

CAUTION: Do not remove the media card from your previous device until you are prompted to insert it into your new device. Removing the media card too early can result in corrupted data.

  1. On your new device, tap Next or This is my new device, and then tap Use another method.
  2. On your previous device, open the BlackBerry Content Transfer app, and then tap Next > Use another method.
  3. On your previous device, select the type of data that you want to transfer to your new device, and then tap Start.
  4. On your previous device, on the Create password screen, do one of the following:
    • To protect your data, enter a password. Enter the password again, and then tap Next.
    • To transfer your data without encryption, tap Skip.
    Depending on the amount of data on your device, the transfer could take several hours.
  5. When prompted, remove the media card from your previous device, and insert the media card into your new device.
  6. On your new device, if prompted, enter the password that you created in step 4.
  7. On your new device, if prompted, enter the passwords for your email accounts.
After your data is transferred to your new device, you can delete your data from your media card. Tap Remove transfer files.

Transfer data using Wi-Fi

Before you begin:
  • If you have a media card in your previous device, you must remove the media card. Otherwise, the BlackBerry Content Transfer app automatically uses your media card to transfer your data.
  • Both your previous device and your new device must be connected to the same Wi-Fi network. The Wi-Fi network should be a private network, such as your home Wi-Fi network.
  1. On your new device, open the BlackBerry Content Transfer app, and then tap Next or This is my new device.
  2. Tap Use another method.
  3. On your previous device, open the BlackBerry Content Transfer app, and then tap Next > Use another method.
  4. On your previous device, in the list, tap your new device (your new device might be the only device in the list).
  5. On your previous device, select the type of data that you want to transfer to your new device, and then tap Start.
  6. On your previous device, on the Create password screen, enter a password to protect your data. Enter the password again, and then tap Next.
  7. On your new device, enter the password that you created in step 6.
  8. If prompted, enter the passwords for your email accounts.
Depending on the amount of data on your previous device and the speed of your Wi-Fi network, the transfer can take several hours. Do not disconnect either device from the Wi-Fi network until the transfer is complete.