About anti-theft protection
If your BlackBerry device is running BlackBerry 10 OS version 10.3.2 or later, BlackBerry Protect is designed to provide anti-theft protection for your device.
When you turn on BlackBerry Protect on your device, someone else can't do the following without knowing your BlackBerry ID:
- Turn off BlackBerry Protect.
- Delete the data on your device by using the Security Wipe feature on the Settings menu.
- Set up your device to use after wiping your device by incorrectly entering a password 10 times.
From the BlackBerry Protect website, you can view whether the anti-theft feature is on for your device. If you flag your device as stolen, BlackBerry Protect is designed to delete the data from your device, and leave the anti-theft feature on. If your device is found by someone, your device can't be set up to use without your BlackBerry ID. If you flag a device as stolen, even if you remove the device from your BlackBerry Protect account, someone else can't set up the device for use without knowing your BlackBerry ID.
When BlackBerry Protect is on, if someone tries to set up your device with a different BlackBerry ID, the device becomes unusable.
You can turn off the anti-theft feature by turning off BlackBerry Protect on your device. You must enter your BlackBerry ID to turn off BlackBerry Protect. You can also turn off the anti-theft feature by removing your device from your BlackBerry Protect account, unless the device is flagged as stolen.