Skip to content
Help and manuals  >  Devices  >  BlackBerry Leap  >  Settings
Version: 10.3.1

Update your device software

Software updates might not be available to you depending on your region and service provider.

You should regularly create and save a device backup file on your computer, especially before you update any device software. Maintaining a current backup file on your computer might allow you to recover device data if your BlackBerry device is lost, stolen, or corrupted.

Note: If you have pictures, videos, and other data saved to your device storage space, save it to your media card or create a device backup file on your computer to make sure that you don't lose the data.

  1. On the home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen.
  2. Tap image Settings > Software Updates.
  3. Tap Check for Updates.
You can also update your device software using BlackBerry Link. For more information, see the Help documentation for BlackBerry Link.

Turn on automatic updates for your device software

When a software update for your BlackBerry device is available and your device is connected to a Wi-Fi network, software updates are automatically downloaded and installed on your device. When this feature is turned on, you aren't notified when an update starts installing, but you may be asked to restart your device to complete the installation.

  1. On the home screen, swipe down from the top of the screen.
  2. Tap image Settings > Software Updates.
  3. Tap image.
  4. Turn on the Automatically download and install Software Updates switch.

Restore your device to its factory default settings using BlackBerry Link

If you restore your BlackBerry 10 device to its default settings, BlackBerry Link deletes all of the data and third-party applications from your device. Any IT policies that are applied to your device are also deleted. After you restore your device to its default settings, you can run the setup application on your device to set up the device again.

Before you begin, you should back up your data so that you have a copy of the data on your computer.

CAUTION: You can't stop the process of restoring your device to its default settings after it starts. If you reset your device, the process continues after the device restarts.

  1. On your computer, open BlackBerry Link.
  2. Connect your device to your computer using a USB cable.
  3. At the side of the BlackBerry Link window, click your device.
  4. Do one of the following:
    • On a Windows computer, click Back Up & Restore. Click Factory Reset.
    • On a Mac computer, click BlackBerry Link > Preferences. Click Reload > Reload.