Skip to content
Version: 1.4

Start a chat

You can chat in real time with your contacts and know when someone has read your message. Share pictures, voice notes, and other files.

To start a chat in BBM Enterprise, a passphrase must be shared between you and your contact. By default, this passphrase is shared automatically, and you aren't prompted for a passphrase.

  1. On the Chats screen, click The Start Chat icon.
  2. Click a contact.
  3. Click Start Chat.
  4. Type your message.
  5. To add an emoticon or sticker to your message, tap The Smile icon.

Send pictures or files

Depending on your device, some features might not be available.
  1. In a chat, click the Attach icon.
  2. Browse to a file.
  3. Click Open.

Copy or save a chat

In a chat, click The overflow menu icon, then click Copy Chat or Save Chat.

Retract or delete a message or chat

If you didn't mean to send a particular message, you can retract it. When you retract a message, it no longer appears on your devices or your contact's device.

If you want to remove the messages from your devices only, you can delete a message. When you delete a message, it still appears on your contact's device.

  1. In a chat, next to a message or picture that you sent, click the Arrow Down icon.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • To delete the message or picture from your devices only, tap Delete.
    • To retract the message from your contact's device, tap Retract.

Retract all messages in a chat

When you end a chat with a contact, you can retract all the messages that you sent in the chat. When you retract a chat, all the messages you sent in that chat no longer appear on your devices or your contact's device.
In a chat, click The overflow menu icon, then click Retract Chat.
You can also right-click on the chat and select Retract Chat.

Edit a message

If you made a mistake in a message that you sent, you can edit your message. When you edit a message, the original message is retracted and it appears in the message field so you can easily make your changes and resend it.
  1. In a chat, next to a message or picture that you sent, click the Arrow Down icon.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Type a new message.

Clear a chat

When you clear a chat, it is removed from the chat list and no chat history is retained.
In a chat, click The overflow menu icon, then click Clear Chat.
You can also right-click on the chat and select Clear Chat.

Hide a chat

When you hide a chat, it is removed from the chat list, but the chat history is retained. If a participant resumes the chat, the history is shown.
In a chat, click The overflow menu icon, then click Hide Chat.
You can also right-click on the chat and select Hide Chat.

Add a picture or file to a chat

Browse to a picture and click Open.

To view all the pictures or files in a chat, at the top of the chat screen, click Pictures or Files.