Skip to content

Start a protected chat

You can chat in real time with your contacts and know when someone has read your message. Share pictures, voice notes, your location, and other files.

To start a protected chat in BBM Enterprise, a passphrase must be shared between you and your contact. By default, this passphrase is shared automatically, and you aren't prompted for a passphrase.

  1. On the Chats screen, tap The Start Chat icon.
  2. Tap a contact. If you can't find particular contacts, they might be pending contacts or might have recently changed their name.
  3. Type your message.
  4. To add an emoticon or sticker to your message, tap The Smile icon .
  5. To ping someone, tap The More actions icon > The Ping icon.

Send pictures, Glympse locations, or files

Depending on your device, some features might not be available.
Do one of the following:
  • To attach a file, such as an appointment or a file saved in Dropbox, select one of the options.
  • To take a picture, tap The camera icon.
  • To record a video, tap The camera icon. Scroll to Video.
  • To record and send a voice note, tap The voice note icon.
  • To send a Glympse so the BBM contact can follow your location on a map until a specified time, tap The send a Glympse icon. Touch the circle and slide your finger to adjust the duration from 5 minutes up to 4 hours.

Tip: If you receive a picture, you can tap Request HD to request a picture of a higher quality that you can save.

View or change a Glympse

In a chat, you can view shared or received locations with Glympse.

  1. Tap The View Glympse icon.
  2. If necessary, zoom or pan on the map.
  3. To change how long you want your location to be available for, tap The Modify Glympse icon.

Send a timed message or picture

You can send messages and pictures that can be viewed for a specified amount of time. The item is hidden in the chat until you touch and hold to reveal it. After the timer expires, the content can't be viewed.

  1. After typing a message or attaching a picture, tap The Message Settings icon > The Timer icon.
  2. Select how many seconds you want the other person to be able to view the item for.
  3. Tap Send or OK.
BBM is designed to alert you if the person takes a screen shot of the timed item. If you don't want to see the Timer icon in chats, you can change your BBM settings.

Retract or delete a message

If you didn't mean to send a particular message, you can retract it. When you retract a message, it no longer appears on your devices or your contact's device.

If you want to remove the messages from your devices only, you can delete a message. When you delete a message, it still appears on your contact's device.

  1. In a chat, touch and hold a message or picture that you sent.
  2. Tap Delete Message.
  3. Do one of the following:
    • To delete the message or picture from your devices only, tap Delete.
    • To retract the message from your contact's device, tap Retract.

Retract all messages in a chat

When you end a chat with a contact, you can retract all the messages that you sent in the chat. When you retract a chat, all the messages you sent in that chat no longer appear on your devices or your contact's device.
  1. In the chats list, touch and hold a chat.
  2. Tap End Chat.
  3. Tap Retract Chat.

Edit a message

If you made a mistake in a message that you sent, you can edit your message. When you edit a message, the original message is retracted and it appears in the message field so you can easily make your changes and resend it.
  1. In a chat, touch and hold a message you sent.
  2. Tap Edit.
  3. Type a new message.